BMI Lehman Engel Musical Theatre Workshop

The BMI Lehman Engel Musical Theatre Workshop, a program that is widely regarded as the premiere training ground for emerging musical theatre composers, lyricists, and librettists.

After thoughtful consideration, we've made the difficult decision to postpone the First Year Composer and Lyricist workshop until September 2021. We feel it is essential and most beneficial for our first year writers to be able to meet and collaborate in person. If you have already applied to this specific workshop, we will be holding your application for consideration in 2021—no need to reapply again. New applications will also be accepted beginning May 2021.

Please note that the BMI Lehman Engel Workshop is on break for the summer, but the Librettist, Basic Bookwriting and Second and Third Year workshops will resume via Zoom beginning this September.

Thank you for understanding and we look forward to seeing you all in 2021.

Steering Committee

Patrick Cook, Director

Frederick Freyer
Nancy Golladay
Adam Mathias
Alan Menken
Jane Smulyan
David Spencer
Sara Wordsworth
Maury Yeston

Notable shows

By current and former Members and Alumni of the BMI Lehman Engel Musical Theatre Workshop.


Workshop History

Learn about Lehman Engel and BMI's support for Musical Theatre through this award-winning program.


A Dialog on the Workshop

Current and former members of the Workshop talk about what participation has meant to them.


Opportunities & Awards

Presented by the BMI Foundation

Jean Banks Award

The Jean Banks Award is presented annually to the lyricist(s) and composer(s) of the best ten-minute musical created in The Workshop.

Jerry Bock Award

Named in honor of the BMI composer of Fiddler on the Roof, The Rothchilds, She Loves Me, The Apple Tree, and Fiorello, this monetary award is presented to Workshop writers and composers for furtherance of a promising musical project.

Jerry Harrington Awards

These monetary awards are made annually in memory of Jerry Harrington to outstanding members of The Workshop. Awards are available for first, second and advanced workshop participants.

Ellen Schwartz Award

The Ellen Schwartz Award for Outstanding Literary Merit in Lyric Writing is presented annually to a Second or Third Year participant of The Workshop.

Presented by BMI, managed by the Dramatist Guild Fund

The George Bailey Fund

This fund, donated anonymously by a Workshop member, was inspired by the film classic It’s a Wonderful Life. The fund provides first and second-year members with financial assistance for unforeseen expenses that would hinder the pursuit of their craft. Grants are awarded during each workshop term.


For more information about the workshop:

Patrick Cook
Director, Musical Theatre
7 World Trade Center
250 Greenwich Street
New York, NY 10007-0030